Our second project was to create a design through use of repletion of a single simple shape such as a circle, square, triangle, etc. and through this usage create movement, depth and space. We were shown multiple examples which included an entire paper filled with circles which were of varying sizes which created depth and movement, a checker board with varying space between the squares which made the design seem like it was spreading apart. I was really struck by the use of circles in the first example and I decided I wanted to work with those for my design. I wanted to use circles because I thought they created the most difference in depth other simple shapes would be used to create expanding space but circles could be used, by differential of size, to create a depth similar to a mountain range with peaks and valleys.  For this reason I automatically chose the circle to be my simple shape to work with. To create this piece I am thinking I am thinking of taking an object which includes a lot of peaks and valleys to portray through the use of the simple circle, creating the valleys through the use of smaller circles.



Leave a Reply.