In class last week we worked on black and white paintings using bamboo brushes. The point of these drawings was to show depth, space, not to hug the conners, and to have a point of interest. The top picture is the painting I think turned out to best show these objectives the lines go in all differant dirrections so they do not hug on partictular place on the picture they also cover the whole page showing space. The lighter colored lines fade into the background while the darker lines come forward creating the illusion of 3D space on a 2D surface. the lighter center with only 2 dark lines draw the eye to it creating a focal point. the second picture is another I did with the same materials I just like this on it reminds me of rain. 
Picture
Picture
Hanna Johansson
9/29/2010 08:56:48 am

I really like these two studies. Had not thought of rain with the one, but you are right looks like rain on a window. Keep up the good work!

Reply



Leave a Reply.