For my final I was going to do the symbol I did in my second draft. I had not really worked with charcoal before so I was a little bit nervous I also can not stand the feeling of charcoal scraping on things for me it is like nails on a chalkboard. I started by doing the basic outline I went slow because it is hard to erase charcoal after I finished the basic outlines of the shapes in the picture I started to fill in the sections that connect to the wall in my final I zoomed in a lot more than in the draft because I didn’t think the bottom part was the important. I found that it was much easier to blend the charcoal then it is to blend the graphite and it was easier to get a dark black for the areas that are black paint. After a while it was easy to work with charcoal and I was not cringing anymore. I used the white charcoal to create the edges in the black and I worked really well because it created a highlight there. I shades the wall areas a dark grey and the areas in between the paint a light grey.




Leave a Reply.