For my second draft I decided to use a different song completely I chose Jason Mraz’s Beautiful Mess which instantly clicked with the idea to do a long full flowing ball gown dress hanging from a clothes line with the lyrics in the skirt. This image came from the lyric “and we tore our dresses and stained our shirts but it’s nice today oh the wait was so worth it”. Since we r making a block print I wanted the design to be pretty simple and only have the letters as a complex part. I took my favorite bits and pieces from the lyrics to put in the skirt. I started by drawing my design on a piece of paper then I traced over it with a very soft graphite pencil. After this I flipped the drawing onto the block and pressed down to transfer the print to the block. Then I traced the transfer on the block to see it better. After this I started with the carving.




Leave a Reply.